Italian American Police Society of New Jersey

Past Gala

Since 1993 we have Honored Italian Americans in various walks of life for their contributions to our community.  Below are those people whom we have honored at our Annual Gala Dinner Dances since 1993.  We have added digital versions of our Gala Journal in recent years.  See below.

1993    –    1st Annual Dinner Dance
Rodney Leone, Passaic County Sheriff’s dept.
Rosanna Scotto, Fox News Anchorwoman
Ralph Andreano,  Passaic County Under Sheriff  (D)

Frank Benedetto – Bergen County Sheriff’s Dept.  (D)
Edward DeFazio – Hudson County 1st Assistant Prosecutor
Robert Galantucci -Attorney
Carmen Messano Hudson County Prosecutor
Dr. Claudia Caggiula – Vice Consul of Italy

Linda Anselmini – NJ Commissioner of Personnel
Ronald Fava – Passaic County Prosecutor
Carmen LaBruno Hoboken Police Chief
Bill Martini – US Congressman
Dr. Daniel Schievella – Humanitarian

Vincent Modarelli- Major, NJ State Police
Maria DeNoia –  NJ Network Reporter
Anthony Scardino – HMDC Commissioner

William Cafaro – Deputy Chief of the Port Authority Police of NY & NJ
Rev. Nicholas DeMarzio- Archdiocese of Newark
Janet Occhiuzzo – Higgins- 

Dominic Polifron ATF  Special Agent in Charge
Sr. Margherita Marchione of Villa Walsh in Morristown
Mario Perillo – Businessman of Year

Rev. Chris Hynes- Chaplain
Rev. David Baratelli-

Michael Madonna-NJ State PBA President

John Sette- Morris County Crimestoppers Chairman
Ron Squillace-
 Bussiness Leader
Lisa DiBisceglie- 
Caldwell College

Prosecutor Michael Rubbinaccio- Morris County Prosecutor
Sr. Concepta D’Amato- 
Villa Walsh Academy  (D)
Robert Belfiore
 – Chief of the Port Authority Police of NY & NJ


Cav. Joseph Coccia- UNICO National (D)

Jerry Speziale – Passaic County Sheriff
Gina Miele – Montclair State University
Peter Cavicchia – Special Agent in Charge, US Secret Service
Gio Porcelli – NYPD Columbia Association

Gen. Paul Izzo – US Army
Mary Garofalo – Fox 5  Woman of Year
Bishop Arthur Serratelli – Roman Catholic Diocese of Paterson

Prosecutor John Molinelli – Bergen County Prosecutor
Janine Strafaci – News 12 Anchorwoman
Paul DiGiacomo – NYPD Columbia Association

Prosecutor James Avigliano – Passaic County Prosecutor  (D)
Jill Nicolini – Newswoman, WPIX News
Ronald Calissi Esq.- 
Fairleigh Dickinson University  (D)

Sen  Anthony Bucco  (D)
Sen Paul Sarlo
Judy Gagliano – Essex County Executive Chief Assistant Prosecutor
Frank Provenzano – Lifetime Achievement in Law Enforcement


Prosecutor Robert Bianchi – Morris County Prosecutor
Cherie Castellano -Program Director NJ Cop-to-Cop
Anthony Calandra – Businessman
Michael Gargiulo – Humanitarian

Anthony Wieners – NJ State PBA President
Alicia Vitarelli – News 12 New Jersey
Al Petracco – Mayor, Nutley, NJ
William Plitt – Chief Inspector US Marshals Service

2011  –  Gala Journal
Joe Piscipo – Entertainer
Dawn Simonetti – Assistant Essex County Prosecutor
Frank Shillari – Hudson County Sheriff
John J. Bruno – Attorney

2012 – Gala Journal
Timothy Williams – Director INTERPOL
Cara DiFalco – News 12 New Jersey
Dr. Vincent Carrao – Humanitarian
Michael Tota – Businessman

IAPSNJ Valor Awards:
Detective Richard Nicoletti
Officer Michael Ruggier
– Parsippany PD

Officer Rachel Morgan
Officer Ryan Hayo
– Paramus PD

IAPSNJ Medal of Valor (posthumously) – Det. Michael Morgan, Newark PD

2013  – Gala Journal
Mark DiIonno – Star Ledger Columnist
Dr. Brian Mignola – Humanitarian
Rocco Miscia –  Director,  Essex County College Police Academy

2014  – Gala Journal
Patrick Montuore – Chief of Police Florham Park
Donna Roman-Hernandez – Film Maker – Editor NJ Blue Magazine
Nicholas Grillo – President Jersey City Chapter of Unico
Patric Montuore – Chief of Police Florham Park
Luciano Ventrone – Owner San Vito & Villa Maria restaurants in Bayonne

2015 – Gala Journal
Anthony Romano – Retired Capt. Hoboken & Hudson County Freeholder
Teresa Priolo – News woman – Fox 5 News
William Agnellino – Owner Reservoir Tavern – Chairman Morris Cty. Columbus Day Parade Committee
Michaul Saudino – Bergen County Sheriff

2016 – Gala Journal
Mercer County Prosecutor Angelo Onofri,
Man of the Year
Chief Joseph Rutigliano,
Lifetime Achievement Award for Law Enforcement
Dr. David Bikoff,
Humanitarian of the Year
Michelle Sorvino, Woman of the Year
Rick DeLorenzo,
Businessman of the Year

2017 – Gala Journal

Mayor Joseph Pannullo  Man of the Year    Township of East Hanover
Nadine Meola   Woman of the Year  
William Spadea Media Executive of the Year   NJ 101.5 FM & Chasing NJ News Channel 9
Carol Grossi  Educator of the Year   Superintendent, Hanover Park Regional High School District
Chief John Lazzara  Lifetime Achievement Award in Law Enforcement   
 Passaic County Sheriff’s Department

2018 – Gala Journal

Joseph M. Sanzari   Man of the Year   
Chief Phyllis Bindi   Woman of the Year  (East Orange PD)  
 Under Sheriff Jessica Plumeri Lifetime Achievement Award in Law Enforcement   
 Mercer County Sheriff’s Office

2019 – Gala Journal

Mr. Laurence Inserra   Man of the Year  (Owner of 20 Shop Rite Supermarkets)  
Dr. Ann Prisco   Woman of the Year  (President of Felician University)
Chief Anthony “Gary” Manna   Law Enforcement Executive of the year (Fairfield PD)

2020 – Gala Journal soon

Mr. John Gunnello  – Man of the Year (Direct Waste Services)
Ms. Denise D’Alessandro  – Woman of the Year (Director Hudson County Dept of Roads & Property)
Ms. Lyndsay Ruotolo  –  Lifetime Achievement Award in Law Enforcement (Union County Prosecutor)